News & Press: General

ISTR Board of Directors Nominations

Monday, May 4, 2020  
Share |

The 2020 ISTR Nominating Committee invites the ISTR membership and global research community to submit nominees for President Elect and the Board of Directors of the International Society for Third-Sector Research (ISTR). 

The Nominating Committee encourages nominations from the Third Sector research community.  Those wishing to do so should explain why they believe the person’s accomplishments, background, and views would make them a good choice for a leadership position. The nominating committee hopes to nominate a slate of accomplished scholars and practitioners who reflect the diverse membership of ISTR. To achieve this goal, they rely on the membership to forward suggestions and recommendations. Self-nominations are also encouraged.

Nominations are due by June 1, 2020.

The positions for which elections will be held are:

President Elect      2 year term (followed by a 2 year term as President)

(January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2022)


 At-Large Board Members (5)  4 year term                                                   

(January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2024)


Skills and experience that are of interest to the Nominating Committee and should be included in the nomination.

Prospective candidates must be paid members of ISTR for 2020-2021 prior to the elections and must maintain membership in ISTR throughout their board term. 

Please submit nominees to

If you have any questions, please contact Margery Daniels, executive director of ISTR at 

ISTR Board of Directors Nominations Details:

In addition to the elected positions, President Elect and Members at Large

Secretary, Treasurer, and Chair of the Publications Committee are appointed by the President with the concurrence of the Board, as per the By-Laws

One additional board member will be appointed by the President in consultation with the current President Elect from one of the shortlisted Board candidates who has not been elected.  The appointment is based upon a consideration of the characteristics of the successful candidates and the Board’s need for a complementary diversity, experience or skills. (Terms of Reference for the Nominations Committee)


In addition, board members responsibilities include setting the strategic direction of ISTR and the oversight of ISTR’s ongoing operations.  Board members are also expected to do the following:  1) Attend the annual board meetings (2 to 3 days); 2) Participate actively in at least one board committee; 3) Assist with member recruitment, fundraising and resource development for the Society.   

Current board members whose terms are ending December 31, 2020 are:         

          Nana Asantewa Afadzinu* (Ghana)

          Kin-man Chan* (Hong Kong)

          Anna Domaradzka* (Poland)

          Maria Nindita Radyati (Indonesia)

          Ruth Phillips (Australia)

          Theo Schuyt* (The Netherlands)         

*These current board members are eligible to run for a second term.


 Current board members whose terms continue through December 31, 2022:

          Mario Aquino Alves (Brazil)

          Susan Appe (USA)

          Daniel Barragan (Ecuador)

          Elizabeth Bloodgood (Canada)

          Oonagh Breen (Ireland) President Elect       

          Carolyn Cordery (New Zealand/UK) 

          Barbara Ibrahim (Egypt)

          Bhekinkosi Moyo (South Africa)

          Fengshi Wu (Australia)


The Nominating Committee will present the slate of candidates to the membership in September 2020.  This slate may include up to two nominees for every position.  Voting will be conducted  on-line and ballots must be returned by November 25, 2020.  Candidates will be notified on their election to the board by December 4, 2020 and will take office January 1, 2021.

The Nominating Committee is comprised of, Humberto Muñoz Grande, Chairperson (Universidad Anahuac Mexico, Mexico), Salma Akhter (University of Dhaka, Bangladesh): Susan Appe* (University at Albany, SUNY, USA); Barbara Ibrahim* (American University in Cairo, Egypt); Akihiro Ogawa (The University of Melbourne, Australia); Tereza Pospisilova (Charles University, Czech Republic);  Paula Schommer (Santa Catarina State University, Brazil); ; Steven Rathgeb Smith (American Political Science Association, USA); Fengshi Wu* (University of New South Wales, Australia). 

(*current board members)


Contact Us

International Society for Third-Sector Research
5801 Smith Avenue
McAuley Hall, Suite 245
Baltimore, MD 21209

Tel:   410-735-4221
Fax:   410-735-4201

About ISTR
Email ISTR
Mailing Lists Signup
Follow Us